- BuildingDesign News - Construction / Services News Archives

Article Date: 16th September 2014

Breathing Buildings CEO Elected to the Royal Academy of Engineering

Natural Ventilation - Passive Ventilation - Ventilation Systems

Breathing Shaun Fitzgerald

Breathing Buildings is delighted to announce that its CEO Shaun Fitzgerald has been elected a Fellow of The Royal Academy of Engineering at their AGM this week. The 59 newly elected Fellows join the Academy from diverse backgrounds, including leading engineering and manufacturing companies and world-leading academic institutions. All new Fellows have been invited to join the Fellowship in recognition of their outstanding and continuing contributions to engineering.

Professor Dame Ann Dowling DBE FREng FRS, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, said: ”Our newly elected Fellows bring an enormous breadth of expertise to the Academy, widening our collective scope and knowledge. I know that they will all make significant contributions to the Academy’s activities in their time as Fellows and we look forward to working with them to create benefit for society through engineering.”

The complete list of new Fellows for 2014 is as follows:

Honorary Fellow

Lord Bamford DL HonFREng
Chairman, JCB Group


Professor Andrew Amis FREng
Professor of Orthopaedic Biomechanics and Head of Medical Engineering Group, Department of Mechanical Engineering, and Department of Surgery and Cancer, Imperial College London

Ayman Asfari FREng
Group Chief Executive of Petrofac Ltd

Professor Muhammed Basheer FREng
Professor of Structural Materials and Director, Centre for Built Environment Research, Queen's University Belfast

Professor Robin Bloomfield FREng
Founding Partner, Adelard LLP, and Professor of Software and System Dependability, City University London

Professor Alistair Borthwick FREng
Professor of Applied Hydrodynamics, Institute of Energy Systems, University of Edinburgh

Professor Anthony Bull FREng
Professor of Musculoskeletal Mechanics, Head of Department of Bioengineering, and Director, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, Imperial College London

Professor Steve Bull FREng
Cookson Group Chair in Materials Engineering, School of Chemical Engineering & Advanced Materials, Newcastle University

Dr Esteban Busso FREng
Scientific Director, Materials and Structures Branch, ONERA - National Aerospace Research Centre General Scientific Directorate (France)

Tim Chapman FREng
Director and Leader of Arup's Infrastructure Design Group in London

Professor Sheng Chen FREng
Professor of Communications, Signal Processing and Control Research Group, Electronics and Computer Science, University of Southampton

Professor Patricia Connolly FREng FRSE
Professor of Bioengineering, Director of the Strathclyde Institute of Medical Devices, University of Strathclyde, and Chief Executive Officer, Ohmedics Ltd

Professor Steven Cowley FREng FRS
Chief Executive Officer, UK Atomic Energy Authority

Ed Daniels FREng
Executive Vice President Commercial and New Business, Shell UK Ltd

Dr Steve Denton FREng
Engineering Director, Parsons Brinckerhoff Ltd

Andy Doherty FREng
Director of System Engineering, Network Rail

Bob Dudley FREng
Group Chief Executive, BP plc

Dr Shaun Fitzgerald FREng
Chief Executive Officer, Breathing Buildings

Dr Andrew Fitzgibbon FREng
Principal Researcher, Microsoft Research

Professor Pratibha Gai FREng
JEOL Professor of Electron Microscopy, University of York

Dr Tony Gillespie FREng
Dstl Fellow, Air and Weapon Systems Department, and Visiting Professor, University College London

Dr Paul Howarth FREng
Managing Director, National Nuclear Laboratory

Professor David Jiles FREng

Head of Department, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Palmer Endowed Chair, Anson Martin Distinguished Professor, Iowa State University

Hanif Kara FREng
Co-Founder/Director AKT II

Dr John Leitch FREng
Engineering Authority for BP Upstream Global Projects

Vice-Admiral Simon Lister CB OBE FREng
Chief Naval Engineer Officer & Chief of Materiel (Support), Ministry of Defence, Defence Equipment and Support

Professor Michael Lowe FREng
Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Imperial College London

Muir Macdonald FREng
Managing Director, BMT Defence Services Ltd

David Mackenzie FREng
Chief Executive Officer, Flint and Neill Consulting Engineers

Andy MacLeod FREng
Group Chief Networks Officer, Vodafone plc

Dr Malcolm Macleod FREng
Chief Scientist, C4ISR division & Dean of Fellows, QinetiQ Ltd and Visiting Professor, University of Strathclyde

John Marlow FREng
Director, John Marlow Ltd

Professor Mark Miodownik FREng
Professor, Mechanical Engineering Department, University College London

Professor Asoke Nandi FREng
Head of Electronic and Computer Engineering, Brunel University

Professor Paul Newman FREng
BP Professor of Information Engineering and Fellow of Keble College, University of Oxford

Dr David Parker FREng
Chairman, Perpetuum Ltd

Dr James Ramage FREng
Chairman, Tesla Engineering Ltd and Storrington Industries Ltd

Michael Ryan FREng
Vice-President and General Manager of Belfast site, Bombardier Aerospace

David Scott FREng
Lead Structural Director, Laing O'Rourke Engineering Excellence Group, London

Professor Karen Scrivener FREng
Professor (ordinaire) and Director of Laboratory of Construction Materials, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland

Mike Simpson FREng
Technical & Design Director, Philips Lighting UK

Professor Constantinos Soutis FREng
Chair of Aerospace Engineering, Director of the Aerospace Research Institute and Director of the Northwest Composites Centre, University of Manchester

Dr Ralf Speth FREng
Chief Executive Officer, Jaguar Land Rover, and Non-Executive Director, Tata Group

Stephen Temple CBE FREng
Visiting Professor, University of Surrey

Phil Tracy FREng
Chairman, GreyHair LLP, and Non-Executive Director, Bowleven plc

Professor Nick Tyler CBE FREng
Chadwick Professor of Civil Engineering in the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering and Director of CRUCIBLE & PAMELA, University College London

Richard Vie FREng
Vice President Technical and Quality Assurance, Carnival Corporation

Steve Wadey FREng
Executive Group Director Technical and Managing Director UK, MBDA

Professor John Watts FREng
Director of Research, Department of Mechanical Engineering Sciences, University of Surrey

James West FREng
Chief Engineer, AWE (Product) and Warhead Design Authority (WDA)

Dr Paul Woollin FREng
Research Director, TWI

Steve Yianni FREng
Chief Executive Officer, Transport Systems Catapult, Technology Strategy Board

International Fellows

William Baker FREng (USA)
Partner, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

Professor Teck Seng Low FREng (Singapore)
Chief Executive Officer, National Research Foundation, Singapore

Professor Thomas O'Rourke FREng (USA)
Thomas R Briggs Professor of Engineering, Cornell University

Dr Rick Rashid FREng (USA)
Chief Research Officer, Microsoft Corporation

Professor Tieniu Tan FREng (China)
Deputy Secretary-General, Chinese Academy of Sciences and Professor & Director, National Laboratory of Pattern Recognition, Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)

Dr Andrew Viterbi FREng (USA)
President, Viterbi Group LLC

Professor Jianyun Zhang FREng (China)
Professor and President, Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute, Director-General, Dam Safety Management, Ministry of Water Resources, and Director-General, Research Centre for Climate Change

BuildingDesign Media © - BuildingDesign Directory | BuildingDesign Tenders | BuildingDesign Recruitment